Thursday, March 6, 2008

CMMI - At what level am I?

Recently, I'm was making some research about CMMI. I work in a financial consulting company, that works mostly for banks. For some of them, specially outside Portugal, to work with them, they ask us for at least CMMI level 4.

We are just starting our CMMI certification path, and I was learning a lot about this. In an early future, I expect to post more things about this subject.

Below, i try to make a very small resume about CMMI.

CMMI stands for Capability Maturity Model Integration. and helps integrate traditionally separate organizational functions, set process improvement goals and priorities, provide guidance for quality processes, and provide a point for appraising current processes.
CMMI is not a process, is a model that describes the practices applied on effective processes.
The CMMI Framework the structure that organizes the components used in generating models, training materials and appraisal methods.
The CMMI Product Suite is the full collection of models, training materials and appraisal methods generated from the CMMI Framework.
The components in the CMMI Framework are organized into groupings, called constellations, which facilitate construction of approved models.
Basically, exists 3 constellations: CMMI-DEV that provides guidance for managing, measuring, and monitoring development processes. CMMI-SVC that provides guidance for delivering services within organizations and to external customers. And CMMI-ACQ that provides guidance to enable informed and decisive acquisition leadership. At Finsolutia, we are specially focus on CMMI-SVC and CMMI-DEV.

Next, I will share some links that can provides some useful information about CMMI.

The official website:

Try this CMMI mini-survey, to get some information about your actual CMMI level. It produces a report with lots of information. It's a good start. 
Please, be honest when answering the questions :)

CCMI Version 1.2 Overview
CMMI for Development Version 1.2

No comments: